Collected words from talks of Swami Tirtha


(from a lecture of Swami Tirtha, 23.08.2016 evening, Ludasto)

(continues from the previous Friday)

So, this was the exposition why we pay so much attention to the Bhagavata Purana – because it discusses rasa and therefore this is the ripe fruit of the vedic literature. But please give me another argument why we treat it so high?

Manjari: Because it’s coming from Shukadeva.

Swami Tirtha: Oh, very nice! But give me something more, go deeper! Who is the main authority in our line?

Manjari: Radhika.

Swami Tirtha: All right, how can I say not? But please, little down to Earth. Looks like the kirtan was very ecstatic. So, down to Earth. Who is the main authority in our line?

Yashoda: Bhaktisiddhanta Saraswati.

Swami Tirtha: All right, Radhika and Shukadeva are too much in the past. Bhaktisiddhanta is too much in the recent times. In between the two, give me something else.

Answer: Chaitanya Mahaprabhu.

Swami Tirtha: Chaitanya Mahaprabhu, correct! Don’t forget about Him! And this was the favorite book of Mahaprabhu. He said: “From the many different revealed scriptures we take this as most important.” And therefore we pay so much attention to the Bhagavatam – because this was His choice. Due to these rasic chapters – therefore this is the ripe fruit.

But in these three verses that we discussed so far, we have got a glorification of the Source. I know it’s a little late, but nevertheless let me ask you a question: the whole vedic literature is divided into two parts, two sections. Which are these two? Shruti

Comment:  And smriti.

Swami Tirtha: If I say shruti, you say smriti. It’s not bad. Yes, these are the two main parts. Shruti – direct revelation and smriti – what is remembered. So, the Puranas – to which category do they belong? Either one or the other. So? There was one suggestion that it belongs to the direct revelation, but actually it belongs to the other class. This is smriti, the sacred tradition, part of the sacred tradition. But especially in Kali Yuga the Puranas, and the Itihasas, and Mahabharata, Ramayana – they are considered just like the Vedas. They are considered the Fifth Veda. So, this is very important to understand – that the ultimate conclusion of the direct revelation and the sacred tradition is the same.

(to be continued)


Leave a Reply