Collected words from talks of Swami Tirtha

“All glories unto Śrī Gaurahari, who is an ocean of mercy! All glories unto You, the son of Śacīdevī, for You are the only friend of all fallen souls! All glories unto Lord Nityānanda and Advaita Prabhu, and all glories unto all the devotees of Lord Caitanya, headed by Śrīvāsa Thākura! I have previously described in synopsis the ādi-līlā [initial pastimes], which have already been fully described by Vrndāvana dāsa Thākura. I have therefore given only a synopsis of those incidents, and whatever specifics were to be related have already been given in that synopsis. To describe the unlimited pastimes of Śrī Caitanya Mahāprabhu is not possible, but I now wish to relate the chief incidents and give a synopsis of those pastimes occurring at the end. I shall describe only in synopsis that portion which Vrndāvana dāsa Thākura has described very elaborately in his book Caitanya-mańgala. Whatever incidents are outstanding, however, I shall later elaborate.” [1]
So, Krishnadas Kaviraj takes a very humble position. There were many devotees who tried to summarize the pastimes and the life of Shri Chaitanya Mahaprabhu and one of them was Vrindavan das Thakur, he was a very respected personality. After him others also start to write the stories, to collect the stories about Mahaprabhu, like Lochandas and Krishnadas Kaviraj and others. Still they all respected the original collection given by Vrindavan das Thakur.
“Actually the authorized compiler of the pastimes of Śrī Caitanya Mahāprabhu is Śrīla Vrndāvana dāsa, the incarnation of Vyāsadeva. Only upon his orders am I trying to chew the remnants of food that he has left. Placing his lotus feet upon my head in great devotion, I shall now describe in summary the Lord’s final pastimes.” [2]
And now comes the summarized description of the activities of Mahaprabhu. “For twenty-four years, Lord Śrī Caitanya Mahāprabhu remained at home, and whatever pastimes He performed during that time are called the ādi-līlā. At the end of His twenty-fourth year, in the month of Māgha, during the fortnight of the waxing moon, the Lord accepted the renounced order of life, sannyāsa. After accepting sannyāsa, Lord Caitanya remained within this material world for another twenty-four years. Within this period, whatever pastimes He enacted are called the śesa-līlā, or pastimes occurring at the end. The final pastimes of the Lord, occurring in His last twenty-four years, are called madhya [middle] and antya [final]. All the devotees of the Lord refer to His pastimes according to these divisions. For six years of the last twenty-four, Śrī Caitanya Mahāprabhu travelled all over India, from Jagannātha Purī to Bengal and from Cape Comorin to Vrndāvana. All the pastimes performed by the Lord in those places are known as the madhya-līlā, and whatever pastimes were performed after that are called the antya-līlā. The pastimes of the Lord are therefore divided into three periods — the ādi-līlā, madhya-līlā and antya-līlā. Now I shall very elaborately describe the madhya-līlā. For eighteen continuous years, Lord Śrī Caitanya Mahāprabhu remained at Jagannātha Purī and, through His personal behavior, instructed all living entities in the mode of devotional service. Of these eighteen years at Jagannātha Purī, Śrī Caitanya Mahāprabhu spent six years with His many devotees. By chanting and dancing, He introduced the loving service of the Lord.” [3]
So from this period we can see that Chaitanya Mahaprabhu acted in different ways. Sometimes He was acting as a student, other times He was acting as a professor; sometimes as a husband and obedient son of the mother, other times like a renunciate; sometimes as a pilgrim, travelling all the holy places in India practically, other times like kshetra-sannyas, staying in one place and not moving from it; sometimes instructing devotees by dancing and chanting and staying with them, other times hiding in Gambira and living in full ecstasy. Nevertheless there was one common feature of His life – dedication to Lord Krishna and deep meditation on the path and the goal.
And you all also act differently in the different stages of your life. Sometimes you act like students, other times we act like masters; sometimes we are daughters, other times we are mothers; sometimes you are a boss of a company, other times – a humble servant of a family. So many different positions we have to take! Nevertheless there should be one common basic point, which should never change and that is the dedication to the Supreme Lord. If you have fixed that in your mind and heart, then you can go to whatever place you want, you can take whatever position Krishna offers you. If you are strong enough I would say: you can take whatever position Maya Devi offers you, because you will never forget where you belong.

1.”Chaitanya Charitamrita” Madhya-lila, 1.6-12
2.”Chaitanya Charitamrita” Madhya-lila, 1.13-14
3.”Chaitanya Charitamrita” Madhya-lila, 1.15-23


Leave a Reply