Collected words from talks of Swami Tirtha


(from a lecture of Swami Tirtha, 09.01.2014, evening, Sofia)

(continues from the previous Monday) 

Finally the fifth principle[1] here about the spiritual master is: inquire from the spiritual master how to advance in Krishna consciousness. As we agreed, the classical way of studies in spiritual life is inquiry. This is an exchange of questions and answers. The proper questions concern the overall fate of humanity, the benefit of humanity. So, this should be the topic of our inquiries: ‘How to serve the divine purpose? How to serve the human beings? And how to serve myself finally? How can I serve my soul, my most important part? I have given my enthusiastic attention to serving my body so far. Finally how can I serve my self?’ This should be the inquiry concerning our connection with the spiritual master. Not that ‘How can I improve my material standards? Gurudev, please help me, I have no job. Ah, I’m so sad, because I have no husband.’ After one year when you receive your husband, you will come crying again: ‘Ah Gurudev, I’m so sad I have a husband.’ Is your basic standard only crying, crying about these material things? Once Gurudev was very strong, he said: “Is this your kirtan?” So don’t wait to receive such a remark from your masters.

Why? Because this process is about loving and happily serving God with so many different nice offerings. ‘Here are some flowers for You! Here is the best incense for You! I had found the most special incense in Vrindavana. This is called ‘Super Hari-lila’. The shopkeeper said that everybody is searching for this, everybody wants this! I said: “I want a packet of that also!” And here is my chapatti, here are my prayers, and here is my reading the books, and here is my wiping the floor… I have so many ways to serve You!’ If somebody wants to do something, they will find a way. If you don’t want to serve – who will help you?! How can I help you?

We should develop this willingness. Right now we discuss very basic things. But if you apply the same principles on the higher levels of our spiritual life, again you will be successful if you follow.

So these are the five very positive principles from the 64: search, accept the shelter, receive the sacraments, follow the instructions, follow the previous acharyas and inquire. We started with some inquiries and we ended up with some inquiries. This is like a method that we have to properly apply in the spiritual life.

(to be continued)


[1] Out of the 64 principles of devotional service according to Shrila Rupa Goswami


Leave a Reply